Thomas Gorbach & The Vienna Acousmonium

a series of sound events across two nights / Tuesday, 14 March, and Wednesday, 15 March, from 19:00 to 22:00
Kino Šiška, Katedrala Hall

CONA and Kino Šiška invite you to two transformative evenings of acousmatic music! Austrian musician, performer and acousmatic composer Thomas GORBACH returns to Ljubljana. He will be joined live by guest artists Andrej KOBAL, OR poiesis and tonota.


The Vienna Acousmonium, a multi-dimensional sound orchestra, sound studio and laboratory for the manipulation and atentive listening of ephemeral, dynamic-moving sound sculptures will come to life in the Katedrala Hall.


On Tuesday, March 14, a curated selection of top sound compositions from current studio achievements and archives of important and high-profile composers, selected by Thomas GORBACH, will be presented. GORBACH will also interpret the compositions on his acousmonic instrument.

On Wednesday, March 15, Thomas’ selection from the treasury of sound arts and electroacoustic music will be complemented by live performances by three artists. The compositions Air Transitions by Andrej KOBAL and Furīfōru / fluvial by OR poiesis will be played for the first time. Sound artist tonota will perform her work uncertainty in Ljubljana for the first time.

Photo: Matej TOMAŽIN, CONA archive, Marcel OBAL and Andraž Fijavž Bačovnik, Kino Šiška archive.


During both evenings, Thomas GORBACH will interpret three major sets of acousmatic compositions on his instrument, including pioner works  of acousmatic music, a curated selection of acousmatic masterpieces and the compositions of the winners of the Young Lion_ess 2022 competition. Among many others, we wish to highlight the following compositions:


– Anestis LOGOTHETIS (GR/AT): Untitled_Coloured Noise | 1962-67
– Edgar VARÈSE (US): Poème électronique | 1958
– Thomas GORBACH (AT): Modulated Resonances | 2021-22
– François BAYLE (FR): Déplacements 1.Vertical-Horizontal 2.Spiral 3.Diagonal (Octophonie) | 2011-12

The Acousmatic Project: Winners of the Young Lion_ess Competition 2022

– Diego BERMUDEZ CHAMBERLAND (CA): Punto Maximal | 2021-22
– Elliot HERNÁNDEZ (MX): Ritual | 2021
– Mariana VIEIRA (PT): The Unexpected Encounter with Diversity | 2021
– Mattia LORIS SIBONI (IT): Translucido | 2020
– Marta MENDES PEREIRA DOMINGUES (PT): Brincar de Pensar | 2022 (Audience Award)

Repertoire: Masterpieces

– Annette VANDE GORNE (BE): Vox Alia II : Cathédrales | 2021
– Anestis LOGOTHETIS (GR/AT): Wellenformen | 1981
– Beatriz FERREYRA (AR/FR): Jazz’t for Miles | 2001
– Beatriz FERREYRA (AR/FR): Vivencias | 2001
– Åke PARMERUD (CH): Growl | 2014-15

Guest live performances

– OR poiesis: Furīfōru / fluvial | 2023 | premierna izvedba
– Andrej KOBAL: Air transitions | 2023 | premierna izvedba
– tonota: uncertainty | 2022


Air Transitions explores the sound of the junction between the materiality of the surface and the dynamics of air. The composition is based on the transformation and manipulation of sound recordings of the bora and wind-related sound elements. Working with the sound techniques of granular, concatenative and spectral synthesis offers a unique reinterpretation of the sound mass of the source material.

Furīfōru / fluvial pursues the ecstatic feeling of floating in the spherical music of waterfalls. In the free fall of water, its dispersion and the shaking impacts of water molecules on the stone, an endless attraction, an ecstatic vibrational field that elevates the bodies, is passionately created. The work was created in a fluvial composition and with the help of performative field recordings of waterfalls and rocks. By searching for frequency resonance, it delves into the elemental rituals of nature.

uncertainty is a confrontation with the unknown and the establishment of order where there really is none. The feeling of uncertainty in a powerful moment of confusion and loss of clear judgment becomes an auditory exploration of noise in silence. The work is based on rhythmic patterns in the form of a spatial sound composition that explores human mechanisms for dealing with obsessive-compulsive disorder.


Thomas GORBACH is an interdisciplinary musician, performer and composer of acousmatic music. As the founder and organiser of The Acousmatic Project, he and Marco Schretter developed the unique multi-channel sound orchestra The Vienna Acousmonium and a method for interpreting acousmatic works and producing ephemeral, dynamically moving sound sculptures.

Andrej KOBAL works in many areas of music, such as original compositions, sound design and compositions for film and theatre, sound installations and custom-made electronic virtual instruments.

OR poiesis is an artist and researcher in the field of bio-, geo- and hydroacoustics, auditory perception, interactive sound performance in a concrete, acoustic space and digitally enhanced reality, online transmission and artistic radio.

tonota is a music producer, composer and psychologist from Zagreb. Her artistic activity combines analog and digital sound design, characterized by deep introspection and a multidimensional emotional charge.

The works Air Transitions by the artist Andrej KOBAL and Furīfōru / fluvial by the author OR poiesis were commissioned and produced by the CONA Institute for Contemporary Art Processing. The work uncertainty by the author tonota was commissioned and produced by the KONTEJNER Bureau of Contemporary Art Praxis in Zagreb and was developed during the artist residency at Bergen Centre for Electronic Arts – BEK.

The project is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia, the City of Ljubljana, Department of Culture, the City of Vienna, Department of Culture, and the Austrian Cultural Forum.


Artists: Thomas GORBACH, Andrej KOBAL, Petra KAPŠ (OR poiesis), Ivona ETEROVIĆ (tonota)
Production: CONA for the Steklenik Gallery
Coproduction: Kino Šiška
Organisation: Irena PIVKA, Brane ZORMAN
Public relations: Matej TOMAŽIN, Anja Pia BIŠČAK
Design: Matej TOMAŽIN
Translation and proofreading: Daniel SHEPPARD


This entry was posted in 4/Sound & Music. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.